A letter from Mary Fedden

In May of 2005, my husband the photographer Andrew Sanderson and myself were invited to visit Mary Fedden in her studio. We arrived two months later and she kindly showed us around her place, provided us with tea and allowed us to photograph anywhere we liked. Later, Andrew made a book of the pictures which he gave to me as a present.

IMG_2894  Mary book
I discovered the letter from Mary yesterday whilst spring cleaning and though it might be of interest.

Mary letterMary letter (2)

The letter reads;

Dear Andrew, I really love your photographs. I love the way you make beautiful + significant the most trivial – seeming things – your observation is perfect.
Thank you so much for your book. I’m touched that your wife thought my surroundings would interest you. When you come to London, I would be happy for you to come + take some photographs.
I certainly have plenty of insignificant objects for you to transform!
Do give me a ring when you plan to come, + we will fix a date.
With best wishes to you both
Mary Fedden
Your children are beautiful!

Before she died I managed to visit her on three occasions and she was always very welcoming and friendly.

If you are interested in seeing the photography that Mary was referring to, please visit; http://www.andrewsanderson.com

This was one of Andrew’s still life pictures that Mary asked for, we gave her a mounted 10×8 print.

Still life with waste wood

 

1 thought on “A letter from Mary Fedden

  1. Julie Howe

    I love her work and have many postcards that I’ve collected through the years.. It cheers my heart to know the Mary Fedden was a delightful lady. Thank you… Just a little green that you got to chat to her and went to her studio..

    Reply

Leave a comment