Bircham gallery solo exhibition March 2015

It has been a long time since I posted on my blog. I have been super busy painting over thirty new paintings for my solo exhibition at Bircham Gallery in Holt, Norfolk

http://www.birchamgallery.co.uk/catalogue/artist/Debbie:George/?category=paintings

A number of the paintings in the exhibition include book covers. I started painting them because I was inspired by the beautiful patterns of vintage books, especially King Penguins and children’s Picture Puffins. It began when I discovered some music books with amazing covers in a local charity shop,

Screen Shot 2013-04-06 at 17.55.31 Screen Shot 2013-04-06 at 17.55.56

I researched the designer (Stephen Russ) and found out later that he had taught my mum at College in the sixties. I have recently been looking at the covers of the New naturalist series which were designed by Rosemary and Clifford Ellis.

Screen Shot 2014-11-26 at 19.38.47Butterflies

Here are a few paintings that are in the exhibition;

Debbie George. Found Larch and nest Debbie George. Seashore life Debbie George. The Wren Debbie George. Yellow Wagtail

Leave a comment